top of page

PRSA’s Greater Connecticut Chapter Recognizes
 State’s Top Public Relations Work

Hartford, Connecticut (November 2019) ─ The Public Relations Society of America Greater Connecticut Chapter (PRSA CT) held its 2019 Mercury Awards Oct. 24 to honor the work of 19 organizations during its annual showcase event recognizing outstanding achievements in Connecticut’s public relations industry.

Communications professionals from PR and marketing agencies, as well as notable companies, organizations and institutions of higher education from all around the state gathered at Dunkin’ Donuts Park in Hartford to applaud their peers for creative and strategic excellence.

Having received the highest scores among all entries, Mintz + Hoke won Best in Show for Tactical Campaigns for its work with Leonardo DRS and Mason, Inc. won Best in Show for Strategic Campaigns for its work with Day Kimball Healthcare.


Other 2019 Mercury Award winners included:


Albertus Magnus College; Butler Associates; Chapel Haven Schleifer Center; Co-Communications; Comcast; Connecticut Education Association; Connecticut Water Co.; Cronin; Sullivan & LeShane Public Relations, Inc.; Image Marketing; Impact PR & Communications; Southern Connecticut State University; The Wakeman Agency; The Wire Association International, Inc.; Travelers; and Webster Bank.    


A panel of 12 PRSA members from chapters located outside Connecticut and around the country performed this year’s judging of nominees.

Additionally, PRSA CT honored Dan Meaney, APR, Director of Public Affairs and Corporate Communications at Connecticut Water Company, as its 2019 Practitioner of the Year. The award recognizes an individual who is an outstanding example of excellence in the public relations industry and has helped to deliver meaningful results to improve the connection between his or her employer or clients and its constituencies.

Following a successful 2019 tournament, Nathan Grube, Executive Director of the Travelers Championship, was awarded with PRSA CT’s inaugural Beacon Award. The award recognizes a Connecticut executive whose leadership champions robust communications and public relations as a path to enhancing the important connection between his or her organization and its customers, client, employees and communities.

Hosted by Matt Scott, meteorologist with FOX61, the 2019 Mercury Awards Ceremony was generously sponsored by Sullivan & LeShane Public Relations, Inc., Albertus Magnus College, Mintz + Hoke, Mason, Inc. and Butler Associates.

Click here to see a gallery of photos from the night.

Our 2019 Mercury Award winners are listed below:



The Greater Connecticut Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America was formed to advance the public relations profession and to support public relations practitioners. The chapter represents a diverse group of mid to senior-level professionals who are committed to enhancing the practice of public relations in the state. To learn more about the organization, membership and its upcoming events, visit and follow the PRSA CT on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.

bottom of page